Go Back   Trackpedia Discussion Forums > Racing Simulators > Racing Simulators Main Discussion

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1  
Old 11-11-2010, 04:55 PM
billy's Avatar
billy billy is offline
FIA rated bubble wrap!
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: Rochester MN
Posts: 5,607
Send a message via AIM to billy Send a message via MSN to billy Send a message via Skype™ to billy
Default Slowly upgrading to an ATI 6870

The ATI 6870 arrived today and immediately a couple of issues. My power supply didn't have 2 PCI-E connectors, I just have 1. I drive molex to PCI-E should fix that.

The displayport to DVI passive connector I bought won't fit the 6870 card because it has mini displayport outputs. So, I need to buy a mini to display port cable (15 bucks).

All ordered from newegg today, might get them for next Monday.
__________________
1986 Porsche 944 sp1 track whore.
Daily driver: 2010 VW GTi
Wifes car: 2009 Ford flex sel awd
iRacing: AMD Phenom BE 970 + HD6870 (5740x1080)
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 11-12-2010, 10:01 PM
Warpedcow's Avatar
Warpedcow Warpedcow is offline
Super Moderator
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Location: Apple Valley, MN
Posts: 3,517
Send a message via AIM to Warpedcow
Default

Should be sweet once it's all running!

I think your sig is 3 or 4 video cards out of date.
__________________

SOLD: 2002 Volvo S60 T5 5M Black Sapphire - ECU, intake, exhaust - 2:05 at BIR long course
DD and Track Toy: 2006 Volvo S60R AWD 6M Sonic Blue - CAI - 2:03.5 at BIR long course - 2:00 at BIR short course - Road Trip Pics - SNOW FUN - My HD Trackday Videos
Racing Sims Rig:Intel Core i5 2500K @ 3.9GHZ, AMD Radeon 7870, 8GB RAM DDR3, Logitech MOMO wheel and pedals
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 11-12-2010, 11:41 PM
billy's Avatar
billy billy is offline
FIA rated bubble wrap!
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: Rochester MN
Posts: 5,607
Send a message via AIM to billy Send a message via MSN to billy Send a message via Skype™ to billy
Default

Today's status. The 6870 needs a 600w power supply, I had a 500w. 140 bucks later and I have a 900w installed.

The box powers up and I can see two of the 3 monitors working. I tried an apple mini display port to dvi adapter and it works but there is a black border all around the picture but the computer thinks it's driving it at 1080.

My third monitor is detected but is always blank. If I try to extend the desktop to it then it says cannot save the settings. I have a proper display port to dvi adapter and am waiting for a cable to try it.
__________________
1986 Porsche 944 sp1 track whore.
Daily driver: 2010 VW GTi
Wifes car: 2009 Ford flex sel awd
iRacing: AMD Phenom BE 970 + HD6870 (5740x1080)
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 11-17-2010, 04:22 PM
billy's Avatar
billy billy is offline
FIA rated bubble wrap!
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: Rochester MN
Posts: 5,607
Send a message via AIM to billy Send a message via MSN to billy Send a message via Skype™ to billy
Default

So, it's all working now. Wrote it up on my blog

http://www.devwebsphere.com/porsche/...d-working.html

Bottom line is the 6870 drives the 5760 x 1024 about about 50-60fps in class 2 mode. I'm not sure yet whether I'm CPU limited or GPU limited.
__________________
1986 Porsche 944 sp1 track whore.
Daily driver: 2010 VW GTi
Wifes car: 2009 Ford flex sel awd
iRacing: AMD Phenom BE 970 + HD6870 (5740x1080)
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 11-17-2010, 05:51 PM
Warpedcow's Avatar
Warpedcow Warpedcow is offline
Super Moderator
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Location: Apple Valley, MN
Posts: 3,517
Send a message via AIM to Warpedcow
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by billy View Post
So, it's all working now. Wrote it up on my blog

http://www.devwebsphere.com/porsche/...d-working.html

Bottom line is the 6870 drives the 5760 x 1024 about about 50-60fps in class 2 mode. I'm not sure yet whether I'm CPU limited or GPU limited.
Crank up stuff like Antialiasing and if your FPS drops, you're already GPU limited. Or try running a lower resolution on all three screens and compare.
__________________

SOLD: 2002 Volvo S60 T5 5M Black Sapphire - ECU, intake, exhaust - 2:05 at BIR long course
DD and Track Toy: 2006 Volvo S60R AWD 6M Sonic Blue - CAI - 2:03.5 at BIR long course - 2:00 at BIR short course - Road Trip Pics - SNOW FUN - My HD Trackday Videos
Racing Sims Rig:Intel Core i5 2500K @ 3.9GHZ, AMD Radeon 7870, 8GB RAM DDR3, Logitech MOMO wheel and pedals
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 11-18-2010, 09:59 PM
Eric's Avatar
Eric Eric is offline
Super Moderator
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: Rochester, MN
Posts: 1,610
Send a message via AIM to Eric
Default

and fix the title of your blog!!
__________________
EJ
'83 Porsche 944
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 11-20-2010, 11:30 AM
billy's Avatar
billy billy is offline
FIA rated bubble wrap!
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: Rochester MN
Posts: 5,607
Send a message via AIM to billy Send a message via MSN to billy Send a message via Skype™ to billy
Default

I think I'm CPU limited now. I've been trolling the iracing forums and a 6870 should be 80fps on high settings at 1650x1040x3. Iracing seems to need high CPU for road racing tracks.

Easiest fix would be one of their phenom x4 3.4ghz chips that should drop in. Illl try over clocking my one first to test the hypothesis.
__________________
1986 Porsche 944 sp1 track whore.
Daily driver: 2010 VW GTi
Wifes car: 2009 Ford flex sel awd
iRacing: AMD Phenom BE 970 + HD6870 (5740x1080)
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old 11-23-2010, 12:37 PM
mrepka's Avatar
mrepka mrepka is offline
Red Group
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Location: Menasha, WI
Posts: 840
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Eric View Post
and fix the title of your blog!!
__________________
Mark

87 944 SP1 ("Emma")
Reply With Quote
  #9  
Old 11-30-2010, 05:01 PM
billy's Avatar
billy billy is offline
FIA rated bubble wrap!
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: Rochester MN
Posts: 5,607
Send a message via AIM to billy Send a message via MSN to billy Send a message via Skype™ to billy
Default

So
Popped in a 3.5Ghz AMD 970 BE and I can't tell much difference to tell you the truth over the 2.6GHz, might be 7-8fps faster at Road America between 3 and 5.

On ovals you get lots of FPS, 180 at daytona for example. But, to tell the truth, Road America at a min of 40fps is still really playable, I don't find myself complaining and one thing I am is a whiner if something is wrong.
__________________
1986 Porsche 944 sp1 track whore.
Daily driver: 2010 VW GTi
Wifes car: 2009 Ford flex sel awd
iRacing: AMD Phenom BE 970 + HD6870 (5740x1080)
Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Forum Jump


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 12:39 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.7.3
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
(C) 2006-2009 Trackpedia